AOC has backed a progressive, anti-establishment public defender for DA of Queens

By Cory Doctorow
May 22, 2019


Tiffany Cabán is a 31 year old, Democratic Socialist, queer, Latinx public defender in New York City, who is running a grassroots campaign for the District Attorney's office in Queens; she's secured backing from the Democratic Socialists of America and Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez.

The DA's office is a safe seat for Democrats, meaning whomever wins the Democratic nomination is virtually guaranteed a victory in the election (this is also the case with the Congressional seat that AOC won in a primary challenge against the right-wing, banker-friendly "Democratic" incumbent Joe Crowley).

Cabán is a longshot, with the favored odds going to Queens Borough President Melinda Katz, an establishment figure with backing from Crowley and other members of the New York Democratic Machine.

You can donate to Cabán's campaign here. I gave her $27.

Since the race’s petitioning period ended April 4, Cabán has been endorsed by the National DSA, the Progressive Change Campaign Committee, Our Revolution, People for Bernie, the sex workers group Red Canary, the New Visions Democratic Club, the National Association of Social Workers, the 504 Democratic Club, No IDC NY, the Jim Owles Liberal Democratic Club, Rockaway Revolution, and the New Queens Democrats.

She’s also got backing from former New York gubernatorial candidate Cynthia Nixon; New York State Sens. Jessica Ramos, Luis Sepúlveda, and Gustavo Rivera; New York City Councilmembers Brad Lander and Jimmy Van Bramer; and activists and attorneys such as Zephyr Teachout, Marc Fliedner, Linda Sarsour, Akeem Browder, and Allen Roskoff.

Cabán’s campaign has also attracted top-tier political staff, including campaign manager Luke Hayes, who worked on State Sen. Alessandra Biaggi’s campaign to challenge New York’s IDC; fundraising consultant Elana Leopold, who led fundraising efforts for Nixon, Mayor Bill de Blasio, and Ramos, another IDC challenger; and communications director Monica Klein, who led the press team on de Blasio’s 2017 campaign and handled communications for Ramos and congressional candidate Liuba Grechen Shirley, and also helped lead the Working Families Party effort to break up the IDC.



  1. Hon. Eric Adams
  2. George Arzt
  3. Lance Bass
  4. John Blair
  5. Mark Benoit
  6. Hon. Rodneyse Bichotte
  7. Hon. Jonathan Bing
  8. Matthew Bond
  9. Erik Bottcher
  10. Hon. Gale Brewer
  11. Danny Burstein
  12. Robin Byrd
  13. Tiffany Cabán
  14. Christian Campbell
  15. Gus Christensen
  16. Hon. Martin Connor
  17. Tom Connor
  18. Hon. Jon Cooper
  19. Wilson Cruz
  20. Hon. Laurie Cumbo
  21. Alan Cumming
  22. Michael Czaczkes
  23. Hon. Bill de Blasio
  24. Aries Dela Cruz
  25. Jon Del Giorno
  26. Kyan Douglas
  27. James Duff
  28. Hon. Ronnie Eldridge
  29. Hon. Rafael Espinal
  30. Hon. Alan Fleishman
  31. Marc Fliedner
  32. Hon. Dan Garodnick
  33. Dan Gettleman
  34. Jason Goldman
  35. Emily Jane Goodman
  36. Hon. Mark Green
  37. Tony Hoffmann
  38. Hon. Brad Hoylman
  39. Binn Jakupi
  40. Hon. Letitia James
  41. Hon. Corey Johnson
  42. Camille Joseph
  43. Phillip Keane
  44. Suzanne Kessler
  45. Yetta Kurland
  46. Dodge Landesman
  47. Hon. Melissa Mark-Viverito
  48. Phillip McCarthy
  49. Matt McMorrow
  50. Michael Mallon
  51. Mike C. Manning
  52. David Mansur
  53. Cathy Marino-Thomas
  54. Troy Masters
  55. Hon. Carlos Menchaca
  56. Hon. Rosie Mendez
  57. John Cameron Mitchell
  58. Donny Moss
  59. Barry Mullineaux
  60. Denis O'Hare
  61. America Olivo Campbell
  62. Noah Pfefferbilt
  63. Josue Pierre
  64. Bob Pontarelli
  65. Billy Porter
  66. Hon. Keith Powers
  67. Randy Rainbow
  68. Hon. Gustavo Rivera
  69. Hon. Helen Rosenthal
  70. Maer Roshan
  71. Sheila Rule
  72. Toby Russo
  73. Bill Samuels
  74. James Sansum
  75. Scott Sartiano
  76. Hon. Arthur Schwartz
  77. Lynn Schulman
  78. Cecile Scott
  79. Frank Selvaggi
  80. Rev. Al Sharpton
  81. David Siffert
  82. Hon. Jo Anne Simon
  83. Kathy Slawinski
  84. Tom Smith
  85. Anne Strahle
  86. Hon. Scott Stringer
  87. Wayne Sunday
  88. Hon. Bill Thompson
  89. JD Thompson
  90. Bjorn Thorstad
  91. Hon. Matt Titone
  92. Jessica Walter
  93. Barry Weinberg
  94. Seth Weissman
  95. Hon. Jumaane Williams
  96. Emma Wolfe
  97. Hon. Keith Wright
  98. Zephyr Teachout