Jim Owles Liberal Democratic Club
Minutes, August 14, 2018

Meeting started at 6:45 pm

Candidates Interviewed

  • Guillermo Ali Perez – 71st Assembly District
  • Robert Kesten – 40th State Senate District
  • Peter Herckham – 40th State Senate District
  • Carmen de la Roza – 72nd Assembly District
  • John Liu – 11th State Senate District


Candidates Endorsed

  • 11th State Senate District – John Liu (Unanimous)
  • 29th Assembly District – Alicia L. Hyndman (Unanimous)
  • 40th State Senate District – Tabled (61% to table, 39% opposed to tabling)
  • 72nd Assembly District – No Endorsement (72% for no endorsement, 28% in favor of Carmen de la Roza)


Motion to Rescind Endorsement in Attorney General Race

After discussion from 4 speakers in favor of rescinding the endorsement of Letitia James and 4 speakers opposed to rescinding the endorsement a motion was made and seconded to rescind the endorsement. Paper ballets were distributed and counted.

64% of votes were in favor of rescinding the endorsement, 36% were opposed to rescinding the endorsement.

The motion required a 2/3rds vote (66%) to be approved and thus failed.

Discussion Items

  • City Councilmember Richard Torres discussed several issues including the need to lobby NYS to repeal vacancy decontrol, the required priority to prevent gang violence (following a recent death in the Bronx) and changes in Bronx politics
  • City Councilmember Helen Rosenthal discussed several issues including the need to increase staffing at the Special Victims Division of the NYPD
  • Hawk Newsome from Black Lives Matter (BLM) discussed the actions taken by BLM for the anniversary of the Charlottesville white supremacy march and violence. BLM marched from NYC to Washington DC with a message of Love and promoted their “Rejuvenation” project including donating food and assisting in rebuilding in various cities they stopped along their route from NYC to Washington DC. Newsom acknowledged the participation of the Jim Owles club and that Club President Allen Roskoff spoke on the steps of the Lincoln Memorial representing the club. He also encouraged Club members to have a presence on August 17th at 9:30 at 100 Centre Street, Part B to support him in his trial regarding a recent instance of police violence against him.
  • Christine Marinoni from the Cynthia Nixon for Governor Campaign (Club Endorsed Candidate) urged club members to be involved in Cynthia Nixon’s campaign. There was some discussion regarding the campaign’s difficulty communicating with to the club, as well as appreciation expressed for the candidate’s highlighting of Progressive issues.
  • Jenna Goldsobel from the Ross Barkan for 22nd State Senate District (Club Endorsed Candidate) urged club members to volunteer in their campaign.  

Meeting was adjourned at 10:15pm



  1. Hon. Eric Adams
  2. George Arzt
  3. Lance Bass
  4. Charles Bayor
  5. John Blair
  6. Mark Benoit
  7. Hon. Rodneyse Bichotte
  8. Hon. Jonathan Bing
  9. Matthew Bond
  10. Erik Bottcher
  11. Hon. Gale Brewer
  12. Danny Burstein
  13. Robin Byrd
  14. Tiffany Cabán
  15. Christian Campbell
  16. Gus Christensen
  17. Hon. Martin Connor
  18. Tom Connor
  19. Hon. Jon Cooper
  20. Wilson Cruz
  21. Hon. Laurie Cumbo
  22. Alan Cumming
  23. Michael Czaczkes
  24. Hon. Bill de Blasio
  25. Aries Dela Cruz
  26. Jon Del Giorno
  27. Kyan Douglas
  28. James Duff
  29. Hon. Ronnie Eldridge
  30. Hon. Rafael Espinal
  31. Hon. Alan Fleishman
  32. Marc Fliedner
  33. Hon. Dan Garodnick
  34. William Gerlich
  35. Dan Gettleman
  36. Jason Goldman
  37. Emily Jane Goodman
  38. Hon. Mark Green
  39. Tony Hoffmann
  40. Hon. Brad Hoylman
  41. Binn Jakupi
  42. Hon. Letitia James
  43. Hon. Corey Johnson
  44. Camille Joseph
  45. Phillip Keane
  46. Suzanne Kessler
  47. Yetta Kurland
  48. Dodge Landesman
  49. Hon. Melissa Mark-Viverito
  50. Phillip McCarthy
  51. Matt McMorrow
  52. Michael Mallon
  53. Mike C. Manning
  54. David Mansur
  55. Cathy Marino-Thomas
  56. Troy Masters
  57. Hon. Carlos Menchaca
  58. Hon. Rosie Mendez
  59. John Cameron Mitchell
  60. Donny Moss
  61. Barry Mullineaux
  62. Denis O'Hare
  63. America Olivo Campbell
  64. Noah Pfefferbilt
  65. Josue Pierre
  66. Bob Pontarelli
  67. Billy Porter
  68. Hon. Keith Powers
  69. Randy Rainbow
  70. Hon. Gustavo Rivera
  71. Hon. Helen Rosenthal
  72. Maer Roshan
  73. Sheila Rule
  74. Toby Russo
  75. Bill Samuels
  76. James Sansum
  77. Scott Sartiano
  78. Hon. Arthur Schwartz
  79. Lynn Schulman
  80. Cecile Scott
  81. Frank Selvaggi
  82. Rev. Al Sharpton
  83. David Siffert
  84. Hon. Jo Anne Simon
  85. Kathy Slawinski
  86. Tom Smith
  87. Anne Strahle
  88. Hon. Scott Stringer
  89. Wayne Sunday
  90. Hon. Bill Thompson
  91. JD Thompson
  92. Bjorn Thorstad
  93. Hon. Matt Titone
  94. Jessica Walter
  95. Barry Weinberg
  96. Seth Weissman
  97. Hon. Jumaane Williams
  98. Emma Wolfe
  99. Hon. Keith Wright
  100. Zephyr Teachout